Supernatural66’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Overmyer Over It March 31, 2008

Filed under: american idol — Kate @ 11:51 am
Tags: , , ,

Amanda Overmyer the rocking nurse from Indiana was voted off of American Idol as the lowest vote getter in the Top 11. The theme for the week was Beatles music -again and the entire night was pretty lackluster. I think the contestants really put their all into the previous week’s song choices and performances and when they learned they had to do yet another Beatles song they all went beh….they were not nearly as excited as the judges about this music that was from a decade and a half to two decades before many of the contestants were even born.
Amanda sang Born in the USSR- and I thought she was great as always but I love her hard rock edge. The pop loving kids who watch the show are welcome to David Archuleta and his young Julio Iglesias song stylings. I will rock out with Amanda with a beer in hand and my black boots n jeans any time over that!
Word since these interviews were done is that she has booked a date at the Whiskey in LA- a legendary rock and blues club that has seen the likes of Janis Joplin and The Doors play their stage. YOU GO GIRL! ROCK ON!

You can check out Amanda’s performances on my AI video channel- all in really good quality from my HD feed.

Here are some of her interviews from right after she left American Idol:
Overmyer Over It

Punkish rocker Amanda Overmyer left “American Idol,” but fans haven’t seen the last of her. “I’ll give it a little bit of time. See how much momentum I’ve created and see if I can do a career change and make this what I do now,” she told “Extra.” The Hoosier nurse says she’ll have to draw the line somewhere. “If it ends up being my 15 minutes of fame, I’ll gracefully bow out and go home and do what I was doing. I’m not going to chase that unicorn forever.”Amanda wowed Idol judges with her Janis Joplin-style pipes, but as the competition heated up, she was unable to show versatility — and she didn’t seem to want to. “I really didn’t put forth much effort to change anything or mold into what I needed to do to continue on with the show, which is exactly what I wanted to do.”Still, she has no regrets. “The whole objective was to come out and put my sound on TV and see if people liked it. So I accomplished what I wanted to do.”
